Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


Member information

Brief bios and contact information for members of the Puna CDP Steering Committee

Puna CDP Steering Committee Members

  1. Barbara M. Lively (, 982-5496) is a 20-year Puna District resident and lives in the Ainaloa Subdivision. She is currently an aide to Council Member Bob Jacobson and is a facilitator for the Hawaii County Resource Center. Barbara is presently a Board Vice President for the Puna Performing Arts and Board Secretary for the Grassroots Community Development Group, as well as a member of the Pahoa Elementary PTSA and Ainaloa Community Association. She states that she wants to be part of this exciting process to try to ensure “smart growth” for Puna’s future. Corporation Counsel has found no language in the County Charter, the County Code or the Hawaii Revised Statutes which would preclude Barbara from serving on this Committee.
  2. Kim D. Tavares (, 985-9070) is a 14-year Puna District resident and lives in the Fern Forest Subdivision. She is a member and employee of the Fern Forest Community Association, is President of the Hawaii Invasive Species Mgmt & Edu. Corp. and a member of the Community Development Hui of Fern Forest. Kim recognizes the need to pool resourceful people from within and near the community to brainstorm and to take action towards long lasting solutions. She has collected a network of friends, professionals and experts in various fields. Most of her projects involve public outreach and education in upper Puna subdivisions (Mt. View to Volcano). Kim considers herself a “bridge” or interpreter” between groups and tries to weave all view and energy into one long range plan where everyone’s views are heard and preserved.
  3. Stephanie Bath (, 933-1131) is a Puna District resident of over 24 years and lives in the Hawaiian Acres Subdivision. She is self-employed as a licensed massage therapist and a member of the Cub Scout Troop 89 Committee as well as past member of the Sierra Club, the Puna Regional Circulation Plan Community Advisory Group and Make a Difference Day Committee among her numerous community service involvement. Stephanie believes that it is a sacred responsibility to preserve what we have on this Island for future generations, not just for our grandchildren, but for all.
  4. Eddie Alonzo (, 966-5806) is a 46-year Puna District resident and lives in Kurtistown. He is currently a laborer with the County of Hawaii, Public Works, Highways Division – Puna Roads. Eddie is a UPW union steward, was past President of the Lehua Jaycees and the Filipino Chamber of Commerce, past Secretary of the Keaau Ag Lots Association and past District Director of the Hawaii Jaycees. As a former member of the County’s Planning Commission, he participated in and resolved issues concerning the community. As a County worker, Eddie has seen the major flood areas, wind and lava flow damages and what areas need improvement.
  5. Jon A. Olson (, 443-1036) is a 12-year Puna District resident and lives in the Leilani Estates Subdivision. He was previously self-employed with aquaculture. Jon is currently on the Puna Traffic Safety Council, Pahoa Main Street Board, Puna Friends of the Park and past Puna Community Council member. He states that for 16 years, he has worked on planning and related issues in Puna.
  6. Gregory Braun (, 965-9570) is a 34-year Puna resident and lives in the Vacationland Subdivision. He is the owner of Asia Pacific Flowers, Inc. Greg is a member of and served as an officer of the Big Island Dendrobium Growers, the Hawaii Tropical Flower Council and the Hawaii Florist & Shippers Association, was a member of the Farm Bureau, and was a past president of the Vacationland Community Association. He lived in Glenwood from 1972 – 1980 and in Kapoho from 1980. Greg states that while he is a realist in dealing with grandfathered rural subdivision, he still believes a foundation of proper planning must be developed as the resident population increases.
  7. B. Martha Lockwood (, 967-7357) is a 30-year Puna resident and lives in Volcano in the Anuhea House Lots Subdivision. She is the office manager of Geohazards Consultant International. Martha was the past treasurer of the Hawaii County League of Woman Voters and the Volcano Community Association, treasurer of the Iiwi Road Tenants & Landowners, President of the Volcano Community Foundation, Cooper Center Council Board member, Girl Scout leader, Boy Scout Den Mother, 4H Club leader and volunteer tutor at Mt. View School. She states that she has been working on community issues in the Volcano community for over 20 years, including the establishment of the Volcano Community Association and Cooper Center.
  8. Frederick R. Warshauer ( is a 35-year Puna District resident and lives in the Volcano Golf and Country Club Subdivision. He is presently a biologist with the U.S. Geological Survey, Biological Resources Division and was formerly a Coastal Zone Management Planner with the County of Hawaii. Rick is a member of the Olaa-Kilauea Partnership, Volcano Community Association and the Big Island Invasive Species Committee and was a member of the Puna Geothermal Committee. His experience with the Olaa-Kilauea Partnership included numerous community issues that arose and were resolved by consensus.
« February 2021 »